• Ukrainian
  • English

Котляревський Арсеній Миколайович
   Organ player, teacher and musicologist Arseniy Kotliarevskiy (1910-1994) can really be considered as a founder of Ukrainian organ school. After graduation the Leningrad Conservatoire as an organ player and a musicologist, A.M.Kotliarevskiy worked as a pro-rector in the M.V.Lysenko Lviv National Conservatoire, taught in the Music-pedagogic University of Donetsk and since 1970 he worked as a professor of the P.Y.Chaikovskiy Kyiv National Conservatoire. Galyna Bulybenko, Nataliya Vysich, Olga Dmytrenko, Iryna Kalynovska,Volodymyr Koshuba, Valeriy Mykhaliuk and many others were his students. They are the real pleiad of talented performers, Honoured Artists of our country and laureates of international contests. Their creative work is known in the whole world.

    From 1981 to1986 A.M.Kotliarevskiy was at the head of the Republican Hall of Organ and Chamber Music. A lively interest to an organ music in our country appeared thanks to his persistent work. It was he who booked and installed the organ and chose the repertory. After Kyiv, organ halls appeared in Kharkiv, Dnipropetrovsk, Sumy, Odesa, Bila Tserkva, Rivne, Khmelnytskiy, Donetsk, Lviv, Uzhgorod, Tchernivtsi and Yalta.

    It's intensely important that the persistence of A.Kotliarevskiy in the promotion of organ music resulted into writing of such a big quantity of compositions that appeared an opportunity to organize the first organ concert which was totally composed of works of Ukrainian composers, and after that - to publish a series of note collections that included works of such Ukrainian authors as Ihor Asieiev, Victor Hontcharenko,Volodymyr Huba, Lesya Dytchko, Levko Kolodub, Mykhailo Shukh.

    So, it was Arseniy Kotliarevskiy who initiated promotion of organ music in Ukraine, forming of the infrastructure of organ music in our country that obviously stimulated an organ performing , a composer activity, a touring activity, and, of course, holding of some resonant international festivals


© 2023 Національний будинок органної та камерної музики

слушать интернет радио